Ricky Taylor led the entire 15-minute session, setting the fastest lap of 1:08.459 on his fifth of nine laps, putting the Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R on pole at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

“After Watkins Glen we were a bit down with the result,” said Taylor. “Cadillac and all the Konica Minolta guys worked super hard this week so we’d unload fast in the first practice session. It was

a tough qualifying session, there are a lot of quick cars. We’ll make some changes to the car overnight to prepare for tomorrow, but hopefully it’s something to look forward to after Watkins Glen.”

Canadian Misha Goikhberg will join Taylor on the front row, giving the No. 85 JDC-Miller Motorsports ORECA LM P2 car its best starting position of the season. Goikhberg lapped the 2.459-mile circuit in 1:08.587 (129.068 mph), just missing the TOTAL Pole Award by 0.128 seconds.

JDC-Miller Motorsports comes into Canadian Tire Motorsport Park with significant momentum coming off a career-best second-place finish at Watkins Glen with Goikhberg joined by Chris Miller and Stephen Simpson in that race.

Tequila Patrón ESM will make up the second row for tomorrow’s race with the No. 2 Nissan DPi of Scott Sharp (1:08.886) starting alongside the No. 22 Nissan DPi of Johannes van Overbeek (1:08.934). The Mazda DPi of Jonathan Bomarito rounded out the top five with a lap of 1:08.959. All 10 Prototype cars bested last year’s TOTAL Pole Award qualifying time.

Engineering student, lover of all things technical and lifelong motorsport fan. Employed in the Oil & Gas Industry, developing Major Emergency Management simulations. Owner of the best beard on the site.